“I’ll Only Be on Pinterest for a Minute” One of the Greatest Lies of Our Generation!

Internet distraction

I am SO guilty of this. What starts out as a legitimate online search for education related information turns into a “Recipes I Want to Try” Pinterest pinning/hoardfest. I have papers to write, checks to prepare for school, laundry, dishes, my next online class lesson (you get the picture). Years ago, we might turn on the TV and watch a show for distractions, but now we have this whole world we don’t even have to move to experience. As I sit here, my son is in his room preparing a heist that will take him and his online group to some warehouse to blow things up and save the world from the evils of gangs. My daughter is working as a cashier in a pizza shop in an online game and I am sitting at my computer typing this.

I have ten tabs open on my computer. Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter are the first three. Always there, tempting me with their little numbers in parentheses. My fitness band online app to keep track of every step I take, how many minutes I’ve slept and everything I’ve eaten or drank. My online class is there, looking at me, wondering why I’m not done my lesson from Friday when it’s Sunday already. The weather page, keeping me up to date every minute. Etc.

toomanytabs

I see myself in the articles I read about media saturation. We are all getting sucked deeper and deeper into our computer lives and less involved in the “real” world. Sure, we go to the store, we spend snippets of time with our friends and family, but it seems we are slowly separating from our real selves and digitizing our lives. We are redefining the word friend. We’re invited to “Online [Insert Direct Sales Company Name] Party! Spend $30 and Get a Free Gift!” instead of going to someone’s home. All of our photos are compartmentalized in little albums on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. We don’t talk to each other anymore. We say we do, but it’s a text or an email.

Don’t get me wrong. Social media and sharing has a wonderful side. How many times have we all shared a photo of a missing child and rejoiced when they are found? How about the heartwarming stories we see videos and photos of that we might never have seen otherwise? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat here and cried or smiled or my mood was brightened by someone thinking of their friends and posting something beautiful. We’re able to keep in touch with people around the world. I can sit here and type something and a friend in Australia, on the other side of the world sees at at the same time and can click to respond instantly. There is a marvelous nature to all of this technology that I think initially draws us in, but sometimes what keeps us here, keeps us from seeing the other things around us, things we used to do ALL the time but are forgetting.

papercliptab

Ok, not that I would use IE, but I thought that was amusing. Sometimes I try to close things and walk away, take a breather. I often find myself being drawn back in or perhaps even choosing another technology to replace it. When I’m waiting to be seated at a restaurant or waiting to be called back for a doctor’s appointment, I look around and everyone is on their phones, browsing, talking, texting, listening to music. We are shutting each other out. We need to loosen the apron strings of this parental technology and experience the world around us. It’s been a long, cold winter for many of us and perhaps we need to have a Real Life Spring.

32 comments

  1. I want to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely loved every little bit
    of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

    Like

  2. Hey There. That is an extremely neatly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  3. Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my web site so i came to go back the desire?.I’m trying to in finding things to enhance my site!I suppose
    its good enough to use a few of your concepts!!

    Like

  4. Ahaa, its nice conversation about this post here at this website, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

    Like

  5. Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great
    read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

    Like

  6. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I
    care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain information for
    a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

  7. I do not understand who you might be however certainly you are going to a famous blogger in the event you
    aren’t already. Cheers!

    Like

  8. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found
    any interesting article like yours. It is pretty
    worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

  9. We stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking
    into your web page again.

    Like

  10. Hey very cool blog!! Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally?
    thank you for sharing. . . . .
    .

    Like

  11. TҺis is verу interesting, Yoս’re a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined уoսr feed and loօk forward to seeking more оf
    үoսr wonderful post. Аlso, I’νe shared youг web site in my social networks!

    Like

  12. This is the perfect website for everyone who would like to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot. You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that has
    been written about for decades. Excellent stuff,
    just excellent!

    Like

  13. May I just say what a comfort to find a person that truly understands what
    they are discussing on the net. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and
    make it important. More people really need to read this and understand this side of your story.

    Like

  14. Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days.
    I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

