I Fought the Flu and the Flu Won…at Least for a Week.

whogotmesick

Ah the joys of being a single parent and being horrifically sick. I don’t mean a cold or even the misery of bronchitis. I mean…the flu. Smack in the middle of July, I wake up one morning with the mother of all headaches and I’m achy. I thought, great, getting sick. I wasn’t too bothered about it. The kids are old enough that I can sleep in or nap if need be.

Later on that day, I realized that I was about to get way more sick than I realized. I stopped at the urgent care center and left with a diagnosis of the flu, in July. Just odd. By that evening, I couldn’t even stand up without crying and my temp had exceeded 103. I was really scared that my kids would get it and I wouldn’t be able to care for them.

Thankfully, the next day, my wonderful older daughter did a shopping run for me, with the good stuff included: Orange juice, soup, a treat for the kids, milk, fever reducers etc. It was a relief.

sicksympathypug

Yeah, we all get sick and it’s inconvenient as hell for all of us. We lose days, feel like crud and get so far behind on everything. My kids still both needed me and although they let me rest more than usual, they still are young enough that they aren’t sure of some things. That’s part of being a parent.

Finally, on day 5, the fever began to break. It was a very slow process, but I finally got down to 101.9. Still felt like crud, but less crud-like than 103. The day after that, I saw a 9 as the first number for many days. I attempted a store run of my own and really overdid it. Came home and really rested again.

sickbutamom

As with all illnesses, they begin to lift after so many days and we feel a slow return to normal (whatever the hell that is). While I’m still hacking constantly from that flu cough that takes weeks to subside, my temp is finally normal. That makes all the difference in the world. I still plan on taking this entire week to continue taking it easy. I think that’s what a lot of us single and not single parents do too soon after we’ve been sick. We immediately try to go back full steam and find ourselves worn out.

This time, I’m going to relax, take care of things at home a little at a time and be VERY thankful that my kids didn’t get what I had. I don’t know how I managed that, but I guess I need to be thankful for soap lol. I’m a vigilant hand washer and I’d like to think that helped. Also yelling, “DON’T SIT THERE” and “DON’T TOUCH THAT” about 1,000 times added to the save as well.

I got my flu shot last Fall and the doctor told me that albeit it’s been many months, I should still “enjoy” some protection from the antibodies I gained. He told me I had one of the types found in the shot. Maybe that’s a good thing since I’m already on the mend.

Leave a Reply

