New Year’s Resolutions: Two Weeks of Hard Core Dedication and Determination

resolutionfirsttwoweeks

Let’s face it. We’ve all made New Year’s resolutions. “This year I’m going to lose fifty pounds and run that 5K!” Many do and frankly, they kick ass and take names. I’m truly happy for them. If making a resolution is something you can do and stick with, go for it. My resolution last year was to become more organized and do more with less. I actually achieved a good bit of that goal and donated many boxes of stuff I no longer need.

However, I no longer make unrealistic resolutions because I truly don’t want to start off the year with a goal I KNOW deep down inside I’m never going to achieve. Yes, that sounds incredibly pessimistic, but I think that if you really desire lasting change, you need to figure out why you feel the need to make that resolution in the first place. Just typing/writing/saying you’re going to do something can be empowering and we should all do our best to strive towards achieving personal goals, but we need to be realistic.

gain5pounds

If you look up yo-yo dieting in the dictionary, there’s a picture of me waving back at you. I’ve been all over the scale number wise over the years. I’m not thrilled about the number that shows now, but I truly have to be responsible for my own health. No one forced me to eat what I did and no one can help me get healthy except me. When I try to blame stress or someone aggravating me or bills, children, life etc, I’m truly projecting my own inability to take accountability for my own self. There have been too many times I’ve said, “If my kids weren’t stressing me out, I wouldn’t eat so much.” I’m eating too much because I allow myself to eat too much. If I truly wanted to eat less, I would. Period.

So, if I’m going to add a health related goal for next year, I want to keep it realistic. I’d like to make better food choices and be more active is something I feel is attainable compared to the lose 50 pounds and run a 5K. That’s what works for me and that’s the idea.

braceyourselfnyresolutions

Over the next week, we’re going to see a whole lot of memes showing up about the New Year. It’s been a rough year for many with a stressful election year, the loss of many icons of our generation and just a plain shitty year to be perfectly honest. I don’t know too many people who are sorry to see the calendar change.

No matter what my friends and family post for their resolutions, I will truly cheer them on and wish them success. I will just be sitting here trying not to snack too much while reading them.

honestnyresolutions

Oh and walk more…that’s a real resolution I have (or I’m at least thinking about it!).

Leave a Reply

